This discussion has been locked.
You can no longer post new replies to this discussion. If you have a question you can start a new discussion

XE167 question

Hi gentlemen
Consider i'm an absolute beginner with XE167 and microV4 too, so be patient with my stupid question.
I've enclosed a couple of uninterruptible instructions between _Atomic_(0) _endatomic_,
but wath happens to an hardware interrupt occuring at that time?
Is it neglected or simply delayed?
Thank's in advance
Alf

• "Consider i'm an absolute beginner with XE167"

So, rather than just give you an answer on a plate, here is the kind of approach that you could adopt to answer such questions for yourself:

See the Keil C166 Manual for details of its _atomic_ and _endatomic_ routines.

http://www.keil.com/support/man/docs/c166/c166__atomic_.htm

It tells you that this causes an ATOMIC instruction to be insterted.

The ATOMIC instruction is a part of the instruction set of the chip - it is not defined by Keil. Therefore, for details of what, exactly, the ATOMIC instruction does, you would have to refer to the manufacturer's documentation.

You should also try searching the Keil site, putting "_atomic_" and "_endatomic_" into the 'Search' box:

www.keil.com/.../search.asp

• From the Manual...

The atomic and extend instructions (ATOMIC, EXTR, EXTP, EXTS, EXTPR, EXTSR) disable the standard and PEC interrupts and class A traps until completion of the immediately following sequence of instructions.

ATOMIC and EXTended instructions become active immediately, so no additional NOPs are required. All instructions requiring multi cycles or hold states for execution are considered to be one instruction. The ATOMIC and EXTended instructions can be used with any instruction type.